NewsFix

Experience News in a New Way

Grego’s Comments: Study says you drink more if you have tats

A French study has produced findings that suggest those of us with tattoos and piercings are likely to consume more alcohol than those without the body art.

When I first heard this I was like, “Hey, you can’t generalize like that!” and then I started thinking about how much I used to drink, and how all the people I know with tats including most of the artists that have inked me, like to party, and I have to say, the study is somewhat accurate. I mean, there are exceptions and the study is referring to the heavily pierced and extensively tattooed!

“Previous studies have routinely shown that individuals with body piercings or tattoos are more likely to engage in risky behavior than non-pierced or non-tattooed people, including unprotected sex, fighting, theft and drinking.”

In a previous commentary, I said the self-mutilation of a tattoo or piercing to the body could be an outward sign of pain or rage, or some unresolved psychological issues. I had to laugh though, they do the study and then say be careful not to stereotype people you see with tats and metal in their face as “high-risk”! Whatever. Society can try to put us in a box all the want but they can’t keep us there. We’re people who are constantly in transition and, really, whose business is it why we choose to do what we do to our bodies?! Hey, I don’t drink now and I’d still get tattooed!!

So there, Frenchies, survey that!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2012 by in Grego's Comments, In Our Opinion ....
